Legal Question in Admiralty Law in Florida

I am selling a boat and am letting the buyer make payments. I want to be sure I am not liable for him or the boat after the purchase. Should he title it in his name and put me as a lien holder so I can repo it if he falls behind on paying or do I keep the title in my name (as it is now) and have him sign a drawn up document stating he assumes all liability?

Asked on 5/21/12, 8:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

if you keep title, you are potentially liable.

Read more
Answered on 5/21/12, 9:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Admiralty Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now