Florida  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
12/30/10, 12:02 am

Legal Question


BANKRUPTCY QUESTION:

I am 12+ months delinquent on my mortgage payments. I have ZERO equity in the house. My car is worth less than 1000 dollars (paid for). I have about $15,000 dollars in unsecured credit card debt. I own nothing of value (i.e. jewelry, art, etc); have no savings; living basically from month to month on disability which I've been on for 20 years. I believe I'm eligible to file for bankruptcy.

My basic understanding is that, by law, I get to "keep" my home, car, possessions & clothes.

The "comps" estimated value of my house is about $210,000 and my outstanding mortgage debt is $196,000 which is more or less the amount the bank (chase) owned me.

My monthly NET income is $4250; with approximate Living expenses of $2500/month. I can easily write at least a 4-page "hardship" letter to document "falling behind".

Any thoughts on whether I'd qualify for a Chapter 7 vs a Chapter 13 filing?

In the end, assuming I get a discharge; who ultimately "OWNS" the house? Me? The bank?

BTW, I'm nearly 57 years old and not in the best of health. If in fact I get to "keep" the house, would I able to sell it in 10 years or does the bank just get it?

Assuming I get a discharge, will I be responsible for reassuming mortgage payments, regardless of chapter 7 or chapter 13?

Basically, my ultimate question is this: who OWNS what after the bankruptcy has been cleared?

Thanks for any help you can offer me.

K.M.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search