Florida  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
12/11/04, 1:53 pm

Legal Question


Compensation as Petition Preparer

Hello, I am a Paralegal in Florida with a small home office, I prepared a chapter 7 for a client and charged her $350.00 for the preperation of the paperwork, I received a letter from the BK Judge for Order directing petition preparer's compliance, which states that I need to refund the client $175.00 and need to send the court a certificate of compliance, first, I am confused at this, I have charged this same fee in the past with no contact from the courts. Do I have to give the debtor back this money? and in the future is the fee that I have to charge? also if I do have to send client a refund, how can I find the Certificate of compliance to send to the courts? Please let me. Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search