Florida  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
12/09/09, 2:10 pm

Legal Question


My wife is being sued in Admiralty court for a B.S. personal injury by a former friend which occured on her boat. Our atty, after 25k in legal bills without so much as a deposition, is encouraging her to settle or declare bankruptcy. Plaintiff is asking for 250k plus future medical care. We have enough debt to zero out the equity in our NJ home and can file for bankruptcy in Fl which is our legal adress. If we file prior to any judgement how would this affect future earnings in chapter 13 and could we block any payment to this slickster. All attorneys involved are determined to turn this into a chapter out of Bleak House. Any advice would be appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search