Florida | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
What will I lose?
I'm worried once I file for bankruptcy, will I lose all the stuff I purchased on those cards? Will I have to give up items like a tv or a game system?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: What will I lose? Under the bankruptcy laws in effect in the State of Florida, you will have to list all of your assets as well as your liabilities in your schedules. A single debtor is entitled to a $1,000.00 personal property exemption. Your homestead is also exempt from creditors' claims. In addition, the Courts allow an additional $1,000.00 exemption for a vehicle used to travel to and from work (but this is generally liberally applied). A leased vehicle is not owned by the debtor and is not affected by the filing of a bankruptcy.
Any assets which do not fall within the exemptions are subject to the trustee's powers to take your property. Alternatively, you may be able to "buy back" items over the exemption limits. Some creditors have secured liens on your personal property and different rules apply.
The filing of a bankruptcy is a serious legal matter and you should consult a competent bankruptcy attorney with your particular situation.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. (305) 249-8000 |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Rosenblum Law Offices
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Corporate Transactions, LLC (A Private Law Firm)
Miami Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 243
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-25
The Law Office of John W. Harmon
Cambridge, MA
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-02
Law Office of Gordon T. Nicol
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
Search Questions and Answers


