Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
What is a Federal Tax ID number and how do I get one?
What is a Federal Tax ID number and how do I get one?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward J. Chandler |
What is a Federal Tax ID number and how do I get one? What is a Federal Tax ID number and how do I get one?
Every corporation or LLC filing a state or federal tax or informational return must have a Federal Tax ID number, also known as Employer's Identification Number (E.I.N.). An E.I.N. is your company’s "social security number" and is used by banks and other companies as an identification number.
The number is obtained by completing IRS form SS-4. The instructions tell you that after you complete the information required on the form, you can either call IRS at the number on the instruction and obtain the E.I.N. by phone or mail it to IRS and they will send the number to you in about 2-3 weeks. You will need an E.I.N. to open a corporate bank account, obtain a business license, and to pay wages to one or more employees |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


