Legal Question in Business Law in Florida

I just received a summons. My former employer is suing me for $15000, claim I breached a non compete and stole confidential information(customer lists, etc). He is claiming the non compete stated I would not work for 3 years or within 30 miles for a competitor or open a similar business. The company I worked for was a dry leaner. First, I don't remember ever signing a no compete. The company was sold a year ago, and it is the current owner that is suing me, I left my job September 2013. If I did infact sign a no compete it would have been in 2006, with the previous owner. In 2009 I did open a company that offered laundry service, in fact the company I worked for used my company for their laundry service. My former company continued to use my company until last week. My former employer was aware that I owned a laundry business, and chose to use it. This past summer my company started accepting dry cleaning as part if it's pick up and delivery service(there is no store front), I would take this cleaning to a third party to be cleaned. I never inform my employer I was doing this until after I left . The amount of dry leaning I accepted while employed was in the neighborhood of $500, maybe.

I have no money to defend this. Is there legal help I can get? Could this be scare tactic by my former employer? He is also stating, I stole services and materials, I have no idea what he is talking about. My wife also received the summons. She is not an officer of my company and has never recieve a paycheck from my company. Does this affect her?

Asked on 10/19/13, 3:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you default, you will lose. You cannot afford not to have a lawyer. You may have valid defenses.

Read more
10/19/13, 10:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now