Florida | Technology Law
Legal Question
Internet domain names
Hi were a web design company and have never been in this position before.
About 5 yrs. Ago we designed a website for a company and purchased a domain name for them.
Their site is up and they pay a small fee per year for their domain. However they don’t do any more business with us as the relation went bad.
Except for the domain name.
They just recently called me and demanded that I unlock their domain names so they can own them.
I told them they could purchase them for $500 and 1hr work as I have to have staff take time to figure out how to do this as were not in the domain selling business. Thereafter I get a phone call from a very rude person telling me im playing games and if I don’t unlock the 3 domain names for their ownership they will take me to court and have me pay the their court costs as well.
This is a fairly large company and normally I would just transfer the domain name but their bully attitude is what has ruined relations in the first place not to mention us loosing several clients.
We are the register of the domain name and our contract 5yrs ago stated they were given a free domain for 1 year.
We have not changed their DNS setting or done anything to stop their service.


