Florida  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
5/31/04, 12:45 am

Legal Question


Fifth Amendment Right and Immunity

I would like to know the answers to the following questions:

1. Under what circumstances can a judge or prosecutor compel an individual to answer questions and produce documents over that individual's assertion of his or her Fifth Amendment right to not be a witness against him/herself in connection with any actual or potential criminal matter ?

2. Under what circumstances can an individual persist to decline to answer questions or produce documents, even if he/she is ordered to do so under a grant of immunity that is supposedly coextensive with his/her Fifth Amendment right ?

3. What other privileges (in addition to the Fifth Amendment) can an individual assert in order to lawfully justify his refusal to answer questions or produce documents in connection with any court or official proceeding ?

4. How can an individual best phrase his/her Fifth Amendment and other privileges/objections to answering questions or producing documents in connection with any court or official proceeding ?

5. How can an individual best insure that there is an accurate and complete record of the questions asked & production requests made & his/her objections/refusals based on the 5th and other available privileges ?

Thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search