Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

Levy a Bank Account in Florida (Broward)

I obtained a judgment against my former landlord regarding security deposit. I did not pursue collection efforts then as it would have cost a lot more money to outlay that I didn't have.

Now I would like to collect by bank levy. I have a Final Judgment from the court. Will I need to certify that final judgment? I've also obtained a judgment lien certificate from the FL Dept of State.

I know the bank account and bank, is my next step to go to the clerk and ask for a writ of execution?

I then take that bank information, along with the writ to the sheriff who will issue a writ of garnishment?

Asked on 11/18/08, 2:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Levy a Bank Account in Florida (Broward)

yes

Read more
11/18/08, 8:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now