Florida | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I was arrested with 3 of my boyfriends prescription pills on me 1st offense , what can I expect, he has a prescription.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Aaron Slavin |
You are going to be looking at a charge (assuming all three pills were the same substance, i.e., Oxycodone, Hydrocodone, etc.) of Possession of a Controlled Substance. This is a Third Degree Felony in the State of Florida punishable by up to five (5) years in the Florida State Prison system or five (5) years of probation.
It is illegal for you to carry or possess your boyfriend's pills (assuming you do not have a prescription for them).
In many counties, first time offenders like yourself may be eligible for a "diversion program" like "Pre-Trial Intervention," otherwise known as "PTI," where you can get your charge dismissed after completing some probationary conditions.
You should get a local attorney to discuss this option with you as you certainly do NOT want a drug conviction on your record (as this charge is not only a Felony, but also carries with it a mandatory 2-year driver's license revocation)!
Good luck,
Aaron J. Slavin, Esq. SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC 4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211 Clearwater, Florida 33762 727.474.3785 1.877.HIRE.SFL aaron@slavinlawfirm.com www.slavinlawfirm.com |
Top Attorneys in FL
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Craig Epifanio, P.A.
St Petersburg, FL
Questions Answered: 2075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Shestokas, & Associates
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
Best Vredevelt & Associates
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Don Waggoner Law, P.A.
Kissimmee, FL
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Richard E. Hornsby, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 360
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-07
Rosenblum Law Offices
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Search Questions and Answers


