Florida | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Failure to appear?
When I went to renew my DL in WV I discovered I have a warrant for failure to appear in FL after some inquiry I learned it was because of a $75 bad check in 2001. I live in WV and work full time. I cannot leave to go to FL for this. I have tried to get FL to transfer the warrant to WV but they refused. I have written the judge that issued the warrant and asked if there was any way to deal with this that did not involve me coming to FL, which I cannot do without the possibility of loosing my job. I have yet to hear back from the judge and they received my letter on 2/25/08. What should I do, I am trying to resolve the issue; I have asked to pay the fines, they refused, I asked to turn myself in at the local sheriff office they refused saying I need to come 1500 miles to FL over a 7 year old $75 bad check. Any advice you could offer would be greatly appreciated. Thank you


