Florida | Criminal Law
5/07/09, 9:57 pm
Legal Question
false accusation
can u be arrested if you just received notice that someone is accusing u of a crime you didn't commit?
false accusation
can u be arrested if you just received notice that someone is accusing u of a crime you didn't commit?
|
Read More Answered By: Kendall Horween |
Re: false accusation Yes, you can be arrested. Getting someone arrested is not difficult at all. All someone has to do is sign a sworn statement relaying information that someone committed a crime. It's especially easy if the writer of the statement knows the accused since then they can actually name the person.
Of course, it's a crime to make a false statement. However, it's very difficult to PROVE someone lied. Your word vs. theirs will not be sufficient to get a person charged with false official statement.
Kendall Horween Kendall L. Horween, P.A. 1211 Orange Avenue Orlando, FL 32789
khorween@yahoo.com
|
|
Read More Answered By: David Kotler |
Re: false accusation Unfortunately an arrest can be made once law enforcement has probable cause to believe that you have committed a crime. Generally, we would like to believe that law enforcement will in a situation like yours, speak with the accuser and attempt to obtain additional corroborating evidence prior to making an arrest. This evidence gathering may take the form of speaking with you. I would suggest obtaining advice of counsel prior to speaking with the police. Frankly, obtaining counsel early in a situation like this is quite beneficial and can prevent the arrest or filing of charges rather than trying to clean it up on the back end. |
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
St Petersburg, FL
Questions Answered: 2075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Kissimmee, FL
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 360
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-07
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
► Forgery Can I bring legal suit against someone for forging my signature on a Quit...
► PTI Program in Florida Two years ago I was arrested for grand theft and they made an...
► Criminal case Does the prosecution have the right to interview defense witnesses...
► Gun possesion Can someone in Florida really be arrested and charged with having a...
► Reduction of sentence My boyfriend got sentenced to 2 consecutive 5 year sentences...
► Sentencing issues Is it constitutionally legal for a person to receive a prison...
► Adjudication withheld I am in Florida and I am getting off of probation. I had a...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press