Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

I have been falsely accused of domestic violance. What can I do?

My wife (who was and is under psychiatric care) falsely claimed (fabricated lies/stories in the police report) that I hit her and told police that there has been a violance in the past. In reality, she lied to the police (she says she didn't know what she was doing because of missed medication) to get me in trouble, hoping to solve our marriage problems. She said she was too stupid to know the consequences of that police report. Now nobody believes her when she tries to remove that report. They think I am presuring her. The fact is, I don't know if that report shows up on the background check (there was no arrest made but the report is there in public records) but it bothers me so much that I got sick and had to take a leave from my work (and then forced to quit). It affected my life adversely and even though we contacted many offices (some lawyers, judges, ACLU) nobody seems to be able to help. Everyone is referring to everyone else.

Don't we have protection laws for people like me? Falsely accused. What is someone says I am a rapist or a drug dealer. Don't police need to interview me before making claims on public records? Don't we have punishment for lying to the police and ruining someone else's reputation. Please help!

Asked on 5/19/06, 8:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Valerie Masters Valerie Masters, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: I have been falsely accused of domestic violance. What can I do?

thanks for calling. dont let this consume you anymore

Read more
Answered on 5/19/06, 4:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now