Florida | Criminal Law
1/05/10, 4:25 pm
Legal Question
how can you fight an escape charge when the officers used excessive force to capture you?
how can you fight an escape charge when the officers used excessive force to capture you?
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
You can hire an attorney to help you. |
|
Read More Answered By: Craig Epifanio |
Ms. Grosse has the correct answer. One of the things the attorney will look for when talking to you is whether or not the officers had the right to detain you in the first place. So, for example, if you are detained because you had drugs on you and you run, then they can use force to detain you again. Now, if they use excessive force, your best remedy is a civil suit and you can sue them for damages. You need to talk to a civil attorney about that. Good luck. |
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
St Petersburg, FL
Questions Answered: 2075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Kissimmee, FL
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 360
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-07
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
► What is the chances of having restitution placed into a civil judgement or lien?
► I wanna put someone to jail and sue them in question of another person murder how...
► I was on probatin for a dui. my probation officer violated me for not completting my...
► My son just pleaded guilty to multiple 3 degree (burglary conveyance) felonys he was...
► I am looking for a lawyer to help me seal my record
► How much time do u do on 21yr sentence for 2nd degree murder?
► My boyfriend has 2 charges and I cannot find what the mandatory minimim is for them-...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press