Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

Domestication of Decree

Divorced mother and father of minor now reside (separately but locally) in Florida for last 2 years. ''Joint legal care, custody and control with mother having residential custody subject to reasonable visitation as outlined...'' Divorce decree from Kansas 12 years ago. Custody / visitation / movement (but not back to Kansas) issues now brewing. No legal activity in Florida or Kansas since divorce decree. Question: Is it necessary and/or wise to ''Domesticate'' the decreee in the FL court system? Can it be filed without the other's knowledge. Can it be done without lawyers ie; a ''simple'' filing, if there is such a thing? Thank you.

Asked on 8/31/04, 7:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Domestication of Decree

1.Yes

2.no

3.Yes, but is technical.

Read more
9/01/04, 2:40 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now