Florida  |  Family Law

question bubble
5/25/07, 12:51 pm

Legal Question


support for disabled adult children

My ex served me with a petition for continued child support for our now-18 year old son, who admittedly has some minor physical limitations, but is by no means a incapable person, either mentally or physically. The petition was filed two days before his 18th birthday, and was not served to me until my son had reached the age of majority. Exactly ''how'' disabled does a person need to be, in order for the courts to direct a continuation of support payments? This has never been an issue with my ex in the past; I suspect she has realized that her money is stopping, and is looking for any way for me to continue paying. My son has graduated from a regular high school, and is enrolled in the local junior college; he holds down a job, and is computer literate. Basically, he is a normal kid, with some mobility problems in his left hand, as well as some emotional/maturity issues, but possesses a normal IQ, knows right from wrong, etc. He is not in reciept of any disability benefits; i.e., social security, and does not qualify as a disabled dependent for the purposes of my Veterans Administration benefits. Juristiction of this case is in Florida.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search