Florida | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I've been named as a defendant in a lawsuit but have no idea how to proceed. After being served, what are my responsibilities?
I've been named as a defendant in a lawsuit but have no idea how to proceed. After being served, what are my responsibilities?
|
Read More Answered By: John DeLancett |
If you read the summons attached to the complaint and IF you are in Florida Circuit Court or County court and not Small Claims court, you have 20 days to answer the complaint in writing serving a copy on the plaintiff or his attorney, if he has one, and file the original with the clerk of the court. If you fail to do so, a default will be entered against you and, ultimately, a judgment. If it is a Small Claims Court case, you have to physically appear on the date indicated in the notice attached to the complaint.
I would strongly recommend you retain an attorney so you do not waive any substantive or procedural defenses by failing to timely raise them. |
|
Read More Answered By: Philip Duvalsaint |
Read every page of everything you have been served with. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 806
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-12
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
► My exfiancee wont give me the ring back. It cost about 4600 dollars. If I took her...
► I'm a small business owner in Tampa FL. I paid a person who belong to a company to...
► Last year I purchased advertising for my then boyfriend's business. The contract is...
► Under Florida Statute 772.11 Civil remedy for theft or exploitation what is the...
► I have an issue with a vehicle that i sold in october of 09 that i just recieved a...
► Our neighbor had an extension cord from his window to our outside outlet. We took a...
► My question is that my son was convicted of crime and sentince to life, now do to...
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press