Legal Question in Insurance Law in Florida

Bell South Retiree Medical Insurance

My husband retired from Bell South, now AT&T, with full medical benefits with co-pays. Since AT&T has taken over Bell South, AT&T has changed retiree insurance to a different company than active employees. Bell South retirees and family members now have to pay a $300 deductible and approximately $1300 each out-of-pocket expenses, whereas, active employees still have the same benefits they did with Bell South with no deductibles or out-of-pocket expenses except for co-pays. My husband worked 30 years for these benefits and has a contract with Bell South, where his benefits are the same as active employees. I would like to know if AT&T is legally responsible for honoring that contract. Thank you.

Asked on 10/16/08, 1:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Bell South Retiree Medical Insurance

Probably not, but it would depend on the specific terms of the contracts.

Read more
10/18/08, 8:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88099 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Insurance Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now