Florida | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
My husband is a Vascular Surgery Fellow at Shands & I am a teacher at Littlewood & we are renting a home in Gainesville while he is doing his fellowship. We began renting June 27th & the landlords told us that the average GRU bill was $250 (this was important to us). Our bills have been around $650 & we pay $1700 per month in rent. We have had an energy survey by GRU stating that the landlords need to replace the A/C unit & redo the ducts to make this home more energy efficient & reduce the utility bills. Our ceilings are registering at 98 degrees & our inside walls are registering at 89 degrees. Additionally, we are rat infested, there is black mold in the office & the bonus room that has been there since we moved in, we have a pool that leaks and has a screen around it with multiple holes that lets bugs in constantly. We can't use the pool EVER b/c they are constantly filling it with water due to the leak & it is always green or full of earthworms. The roof leaks & there is rat feces in the drawers & you can smell it in the ducts. We have kept our landlords informed of this & kept documentation. They are not resolving these problems. We have a young child that I am concerned about with these issues. I am wondering if it is legal to submit a letter stating that we will move out within 30 days due to these issues. They have had 90 days to correct it & haven't. I told them that we may have to move due to this, but received no response. I want to make sure that I am doing this the right way. Any advice? Can you point me in the right direction of who to talk to if not? I know you are busy, but I appreciate your time!
352-672-5076


