Florida  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/12/07, 11:59 am

Legal Question


Small claims, security deposit

I have a tenent in Florida on a

month to month oral lease, i.e. no

written contract. He paid me 300 a

month for about 2 years. He gave

me one week notice and moved out

on the 7th of November. He never

paid me the rent. He also ruined a

carpet, dog ripped up a small patch,

and never fixed a hole in the wall.

Problem is I never claimed the rent

on my taxes. Can I take him to small

claims and expect to win if I claim his

income from this year on my next

years taxes? He never gave me a

deposit, paid me mostly in cash,

although i have some checks, maybe

5 or 6 and his mailing address was

kept at my house over that period of

time. Just don't want to get screwed

because I never claimed the taxes.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search