Florida | Mediation
Legal Question
appearing at mediation
I got served for a mediation hearing but am unable to go for it is out of town. I know I should attend, but my question is if I don't can I get arrested for not appearing?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Brent Rose |
Re: appearing at mediation You probably didn't get "served" to appear, which would mean papers were given to you by a process server or a deputy, you probably got "noticed" to appear.
You probably won't get arrested for not appearing, though, I suppose, if you were court-ordered to appear, it is a possibility. However, there may be other sanctions if you don't appear, such as payment of a mediator fee (maybe hundreds of dollars), payment of attorneys' fees, or automatic loss of a portion of your case. Why don't you call and see if you can do your part by telephone? |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
The Orsini & Rose Law Firm
Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL
Questions Answered: 4585
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Corporate Transactions, LLC (A Private Law Firm)
Miami Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 243
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-25
Garvin Law Firm
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-04
florence f. hessen,esq
Wellington, FL
Questions Answered: 197
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-07
Law Office of Gordon T. Nicol
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Andrew C. Moler, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-20
Search Questions and Answers


