Florida | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
Deposition
I am an radiologist. I am not being sued, but I have been asked to give a deposition in a case involving a patient on whom I read some xrays. Can I refuse?
Deposition
I am an radiologist. I am not being sued, but I have been asked to give a deposition in a case involving a patient on whom I read some xrays. Can I refuse?
|
Read More Answered By: Matthew Mazur |
Re: Deposition You can refuse, but the Plaintiff's attorney will then subpoena you and you will have to appear for the deposition anyway. Further, by refusing, you could put yourself on the radar of the Plaintiff's attorney.
That being said, without knowing what type of case it is, do not fool yourself into thinking that you are just giving a deposition. Depending upon the type of case it is you could be auditioning for the lawsuit. I am not saying this to scare you, but many times Plaintiff's Attorneys will set physicians who may become targets for litigation for trial to get their testimony locked down before initiating litigation. So if this is a possible case where you remotely think that you could become a party to the litigation, I would highly recommend that you retain personal counsel to accompany you to your deposition and to help you prepare for your deposition.
Many times your personal counsel can contact the Plaintiffs' attorney on your behalf to find out what is going on and if you may possibly be a target. The retention of personal counsel to help prepare you for and attend your deposition is a small price to for piece of mind. That being said, having personal counsel does not guarantee you will not be sued,but does insure that you will be better prepared for your deposition and will have an attorney their to protect you, as neither the Plaintiff's Attorney nor the Defendant's Attorney are at these depositions to protect your interests.
If you would like to discuss your specific case, further or discuss personal counsel representation, please do not hesitate to contact me.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Alan Wagner |
Re: Deposition No. What would happen if people just refused to testify? Would you want the person who saw someone run a red light and hit you testify to what he saw? Do you think he should be able to refuse and cause you to lose your case? |
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-04
Davie, FL
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 112
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-23
Lakeland, FL
Questions Answered: 110
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-19
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
► Compensation Is a physician entitled to compensation when asked to give a deposition...
► Violation of rightsunder EMTALA ACT didnt get emergency treatment ,was sent...
► Medical malpractice My fiance and I were at our local hospital due to her...
► Wrongful Death /Malpractice Can a child of the deceased older than 25 file a...
► Never told I had cancer I had my thyroid removed in 2000 in MD. When pathology came...
► Medical malpractic my wife was overdosed by her pain management Doctor and was in a...
► Child sent home aspirating into lungs hi, in 2006 my son was born having trouble...
More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press