Florida | Personal Injury
Legal Question
I was in a car crash that was my fault 1.5 yrs ago, recently I received a letter from my insurance saying they have agreed to pay out the limits of coverage for personal injury to the other party (15,000). The woman walked away from the accident, but did seek medical treatment the following day. The medical documentation submitted states she has soft tissue injuries/bulging discs in her spine as a result of the accident. I'm very worried that I may be sued personally at this point, even though she is going to be paid the 15k. What can I do to prepare for this? Would it be too late to get an umbrella policy since I haven't been sued personally yet? What is the likelihood this will go further than the 15k? I don't have a lot of assets at this point, as I've just started my career - but I do make a decent salary. Please help, I'm very nervous about this (and I'm sure for good reason).


