Florida | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Signing a Release Form for an accident
I just recently injured myself at a well-known restaurant. Two of my fingers were smashed in a restroom door. I called the restaurant the next day when I noticed my fingers were worse and I thought they should be examined and to fill out an accident report. I was told by one of the managers to go to a clinic and to call him back and he would have a claim number and billing information. After several failed attempts to get the claim number, I was seen by the doctor. My fingers were xrayed and it was determined that one of my fingers was fractured and the other one had a hematoma. There was still no claim number called into the clinic and I spoke with the insurance company directly. They said the incident would have to be investigated first before a claim was opened. I spent $518 out of pocket money. The insurance co processed a claim and sent a release for me to sign, to relieve them from any future liability for the accident. This is my dominant hand and I work in an office. My fingers are not healed and still have some numbness. I'm afraid of signing this form in case there are future problems. In addition, I'm supposed to do a follow up visit with the doctor. It hasn't been a week yet. What should I do?


