Florida | Product Liability
Legal Question
I purchased a vehicle from a dealership where I was deceived into putting the insurance under a friend's name in order to reduce the premium. This case is currently going through an arbitration process but it has suddenly taken a different turn. The car in question has been stolen. When the insurance company switched the premium to reflect my name, I couldn't afford to include comprehensive coverage. Therefore, I dont have comprehensive coverage; I am yet to get a definite answer from the insurance company on whether I am covered or not. Right now, I presume that their response will be negative. In January of this year, a friend helped pay for LOJACK installation in the vehicle for extra protection since I don't have comprehensive coverage. Its been three days since the vehicle was stolen. The LOJACK was installed in my State of residence which is Washington DC. The vehicle was stolen in Daytona Beach, FL. I had some frustrating moments joggling between the polic and LOJACK on who activates the unit. It was finally done but my car still hasnt been found. LOJACK on their website states: When your vehicle is stolen, LOJACK helps get it back - fast. A LOJACK transmitter hidden in your vehicle helps the police track and recover it, often within a few hours. Thieves can't find it. Thick walls can't stop it. When it comes to recovering your stolen vehicle, nothing works as well as LOJACK. That's why LOJACK offers a 24-hour recovery guarantee. Now that's peace of mind." A LOJACK agent I spoke with, Christy I think, stated that the LOJACK could have been improperly installed or have been disabled by the thieves. What are my options?


