Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

All's Fair in LIFE and War

My roomie and I both signed a 12 month lease. For the past 8 months we've split rent/bills. She's now decided to break lease. I can't afford the rent/bills for 4 months alone and very few people will want to replace her and move in and out for just 4 short months. Also I work in crime and have cases where people are raped/robbed by unknown roommates so I'm hesitant to move in someone I don't know. Is my roommate responsible for her half of the bills/rent for the next 4 months since she's the one breaking contract? Would this case uphold in small claims court if needed? Thank you!

Asked on 1/19/08, 7:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: All's Fair in LIFE and War

While she is responsbile for her share to you, you are responsbile for the entire amount to your LL.

Read more
1/20/08, 11:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now