Florida | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Florida real estate law
I live in Ohio, but want to visit and purchase a condo in Florida. Can I sign an Offer to purchase,close, and take title in my name only if I am married?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: Florida real estate law NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
Yes, if you are paying all cash. If you need financing, almost every lender will require your spouse to sign the Mortgage and several other loan documents including the Truth In Lending. The execution of the mortgage is to ensure that the lender can foreclose without any homestead issues in case you default on the loan.
The condominium association might require both spouses to apply for ownership and/or be screened. This can include an interview at the association office.
Please keep in mind that when you go to sell, some title companies or real estate attorneys might request that your spouse join in on the deed to the buyers. Alternatively, a Non Homestead Clause in the deed might be sufficient.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. |
|
Read More Answered By: David Slater |
Re: Florida real estate law yes |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7773
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Probate Attorney Throughout Florida
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 586
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Search Questions and Answers


