Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/17/09, 12:12 pm

Legal Question


In January 2005 I used my life savings to buy a house in Florida. I told my girl friend I was going to put her name on the deed. She asked me, "Are you sure you want to do that?" I asked her if we were going to spend the rest of our lives together. She responded, "Yes". I said that if that was the case I would put her name down. We were married 2/14/08. Now she wants a divorce and 1/2 the equity of the house (she didn't put ANY money into the purchase). I'm aware that since the house was purchased before the wedding it is not a marital asset and is considered a gift. My contention is that once she said we would be together forever, and nuptials followed, it became an oral contract and that by her wanting out of the relationship she is abrogating the contract and should be denied the equity. Do I have a case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search