Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/15/08, 1:47 pm

Legal Question


Short Sale/ Property owned by bank

My son found a house that was listed for approx. $149,900. An ex-neighbor who happens to be a long time real estate agent took him to look at the home. He liked it and the next day made an offer of $145.000. 6 weeks or more went by and real estate company selling the home for the bank said they were sending out a person for an apprasal. There was a closing date and now it since has expired and the bank

now wants $190,000 because there was at least $8,000 in back taxes owed.

They will except his counter offer of $155,000 if he pays the $8,000 and closing costs.

Whoops! this was never disclosed at any time. No foot notes of any kind that there might be added fees.

Can a real estate company list a house before the house was appraised and then raise the price?

Seems to me the real estate company dropped the ball here and should eat the difference but I bet they won't. Seems as if everyone I talk to claims they can do this.

Seems like Fraud to me.

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search