Florida  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
7/10/09, 8:01 am

Legal Question


leaving the scene

Florida: What are the consequences

for leaving the scene of an accident if

you are not at fault? My father was

rear ended on a highway 19 in

Clearwater. He pulled over a few

blocks from the accident and saw the

driver get out of the car, but he was

unable to turn around because of the

one way traffic. Shook up, he went

home and got me, his daughter, to

drive him back to the accident site.

When we returned to the accident

site (40 minutes later), no one was

there except the policeman who then

issued a ticket to him for leaving the

scene of the accident. The other

driver had refused medical assistance

at the time of the accident, and she

received the ticket for the accident. It

was clearly her fault (stated by the

police). Does he need representation

when going in front of the judge?

What are the consequences for a

guilty or not guilty plea? His court

date is Aug 4


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search