Florida | Traffic Law
Legal Question
We rent a condo in a complex where most units are owned by a property company. Our is privately owned. Back in the fall we had a car with expired tags that we were preparing to sell. We went on vacation for a week and came home to see that all units were given notice that the mangmnt company would start towing cars with expired tags in November. (This was early September) We called right away just to assure them the car would be sold before Nov. and wanted to ensure it wouldn't be towed. They said they were not towing before November and it would be fine. The next day we went to clean the car for the buyer to pick up and it was gone! Turns out they towed it the week prior (while we were on vacation). It cost us $1000 to get it back. They never stickered our car or gave us personal warning that our specific car would be towed. We have their notice stating November as the tow policy date. Our landlord knew about the car and had no problem. Do we have a case in small claims court against this management company?


