Florida | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My uncle left a somewhat large estate to be handled by his godchild. There were 15 nieces and nephews left the residual (the godhild got the bulk of the estate) The executor (the godchild ahs changed lawyers twice and eaten up a lot fo the money she has also mismamged funds. - In the end we were all to get a distribution of $6,400. My sister was the last to receive her check and it went to the wrong address and took 2 months for her to receive it. When she cashed it the check bounced. The executor's husband only gave the explanation that the lawyer charged more than they thought and his wife did nto keep a balance on the account. Now there is only $4,000 left and they said they "might" send that to my sister. it has been a week and no money. Also, the executor's husband said it is our fault for claling the lawyer so much. However, we got no answers fromt he executor and no accounting was given for almost 2 years until we requested it. That accountign shwoed mroe than enough money int he account plus a residual we should be sharing in. Now they are also threatening to ask the other 13 for some money back to pay my sister either the difference or all of it. My sister cannot afford to hire a lawyer to handle this and wonder what is the recourse here. What can she do to get her money and can any of us do anything to rectify thsi without losing more money. These people seem to be frauds and have not produced paperwork to support their claims either as required by law. Help!


