Georgia | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Maternity Leave
Do all employers in the state of Georgia have to give full paid maternity leave of atleast 6 weeks? If not, tell me why and what the current laws are regarding maternity leave in the state of Georgia.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ms. Tran Lankford |
Response to: Maternity Leave Question No, not all employers are required to give full paid maternity leave in Georgia. There is no law that requires all Georgia employers to provide for such benefit. You can negotiate and contract with your employer for such fringe benefits. There is a Federal law, Family Medical Leave Act, and some states have their own version, which will allow for you to take time off to care for children, other family members who are ill, etc., but even so, there are criteria that you, as an employee must meet to qualify. Employers who are within the definition of the statute must have all the required elements in order for the statute to apply to them. I recommend you contact an attorney because you will need to provide more information in order for an attorney to provide you with an evaluation of your situation.
|
Top Attorneys in GA
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
VILLANI& ASSOCIATES, P.C.
Gainesville, GA
Questions Answered: 179
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-27
Tran Lankford, Attorney at Law
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
Law Offices of Gregory R. Fidlon, P.C.
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 112
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Edmund B Burke, Attorney at Law
Hartwell, GA
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-22
Reisman Law
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-01
The Gbenjo Law Group
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-23
Search Questions and Answers


