Georgia | Technology Law
Legal Question
Internet/Email Privacy
I am 19 years old, and live with my parents while I attend college.
I have recently found out that my step father has installed tracking software on my computer and has been reading my conversations and emails, as well as watching all websites I have visited, without my knowledge, and without informing my mother. He recently printed and highlighted several of my coversations and emails with the intent of showing them to my family because he disagreed with sentiments that I expressed (particularly relating to my religious beliefs).
Although I recognize that the internet remains somewhat of a legal gray area, and I have no specific intent to persue legal action, I am interested in being aware of my (or my step-father's) legal rights on this topic, particularly considering I am still living in their house.
Thank you for any insight, I have had a surprisingly difficult time finding specific information about my rights in this case.


