Georgia | Criminal Law
Legal Question
obstruction of an officer...misdemeanor charge
I was wondering if it is possible to get a court extension (due to military service) without a lawyer. It is superior court and I have no idea how to do this or if it is even possible. Thanks
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ms. Tran Lankford |
Re: obstruction of an officer...misdemeanor charge Are you on deployment? If so, you should have not have too much trouble getting the proceedings stayed (postponed). If you do not have the money to hire an attorney, it would be more difficult for you to get a stay because you are expected to know everything an attorney knows about the laws and procedures of the court. It is a Federal statute that grants you the right to request for the stay. You might even try to talk to the solicitor or prosecutor to see if this can be resolved without having to appear before the judge and ask the judge for the stay. You can also talk to JAG, someone there may be able to help you, even though the JAGs cannot practice in state courts. Call an attorney for a free consultation over the phone; if you could provide more information about your situation with the Military that might help. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Lawrence Lewis, P.C.
Lawrenceville, GA
Questions Answered: 531
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Thomas J. Hough, Jr., P.C.
Cartersville, GA
Questions Answered: 237
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-03-13
Law Offices of Pearlie L. Bush
Lithonia (east Metro Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 189
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-24
VILLANI& ASSOCIATES, P.C.
Gainesville, GA
Questions Answered: 179
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-27
Martin G. Hilliard, PC
Savannah, GA
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Tomlinson & Associates, LLC
Richmond Hill, GA
Questions Answered: 141
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-22
Search Questions and Answers


