Legal Question in Elder Law in Georgia

We are in the state of Georgia. My mother-in-law was admitted to a nursing home on 9/17/12. The family is divided over how to handle her estate. While we were all still in discussion mode, my sister-in-law forged her mother’s signature on a Power of Attorney grant and had her cousin, who is a notary public, notarize the document with a false date (a date that occurred prior to her admittance to the nursing home). We are not interested in taking anyone to court – we just want to protect her assets where they can be used to pay for her care. What steps can we take, legally, to:

• Remove the power of attorney from this particular sister-in-law.

• Give the power of attorney to a different sister-in-law.

• Freeze the account (except for bills) while all of this is taking place.

• Ensure all decisions that affect her estate are made as a family - with a majority ruling.

• Ensure her estate remain intact until it is no longer of use to her.

Thank you very much! I so appreciate your help.

Asked on 10/03/12, 6:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You've alleged criminal activity by your family. You get a lawyer, and be prepared that a notary and your sister in law could end up in prison.

Read more
10/03/12, 6:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now