Legal Question in Family Law in Georgia

Would I be legally binded to take care of a child until 18 years of Age because I signed the birth certificate at birth, but found out later the child wasnt mine?

Asked on 12/14/12, 8:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Tahira Piraino Tahira P. Piraino
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This is a complicated issue. I suggest you contact an attorney. Merely signing the birth certificate does not necessarily "bind" you. It does, however, set up the presumption that you are the father and believed yourself to be the father at the time of the child's birth. The mother has the right to file for child support at which time you could request a DNA test. If the test shows you are not the father, you are under no obligation to support the child. Unless you have submitted to a DNA test, you cannot assume the child isn't yours. Also make sure you did not sign an acknowledgment of paternity and to legitimate at the hospital. Contact an attorney.

Read more
12/18/12, 7:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now