Georgia  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
12/07/01, 4:40 pm

Legal Question


Home repairs after sell of home

My wife and I purchased a home in February 2001. In August, we began to notice cracks in the interior walls around the window and door frames. Also, there is a dip in the roof on the side wall of the bedroom. A licensed structural engineer has told us that when the house was built, the dirt under the part of the foundation that is not solid ground was not compacted properly. The structural engineer also said that the brick mortar work look as if someone had attempted to try to fix the floor foundation problem. The seller of this house did not annotate on the ''seller and buyer agreement'' form that there were/had been structual problems because my wife and I would have thought twice about purchasing this house. Is the seller legally obligated to compensate my wife and I for repairs since she likely knew about the foundation problems but did not disclose it on the ''seller and buyer agreement'' form?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search