Georgia  |  Tax Law

question bubble
9/28/99, 4:16 pm

Legal Question


Tax liens after divorce

My husband and I were divorced in February 1994. I was awarded the house in the divorce but I am responsible for the payments. During our marriage we filed our taxes jointly. He had his own company and I had a job. He didn't show all of his income and owed additional taxes. IRS and Georgia State filed liens against my home for his taxes. In the divorce decree, the liens and all taxes owed are solely his responsibility. I am in the process of selling my house now and some of these liens have turned up to the tune of about $4000. My question is "Is there anything that I can do to keep from paying these liens myself since they are not my responsibility and since it's specifically stated in my divorce papers? I have heard of peopel "bonding" things at closings,

could this be bonded off? I close on Sept. 30.

Please respond asap.

Thanks,

Desperate in Georgia


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search