Illinois | Business Law
Legal Question
In buying an existing company, should I do an asset purchase or a stock purchase?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Adam Tracy |
Thank you for your question. The answer largely depends on the type of business you are purchasing. Typically, an asset purchase is better, however. If you acquire a business by way of a stock purchase, you will also assume liabilities for prior claims/debts that the company is liable for. Alternately, with an asset purchase, you can gain effective operational control of a business and not assume liability for any existing claims/debts - in most instances, but not all. However, if the business has significant "goodwill" - that is, brand recognition, reputation, etc, a stock purchase would be ideal since that structure is the only way to essentially assume that intangible asset. Please let me know if you have any further questions. You can email me directly: at@tracyfirm.com
Thanks,
Adam Tracy |
Top Attorneys in IL
Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove
Highland, IN
Questions Answered: 7334
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moens Law Offices, Chartered
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ainsworth & Associates PC
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Patrick J. Tracy, Esq, P.E.,
Garrett Park, MD
Questions Answered: 528
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Rosenblat & Associates, Ltd.
Northbrook, IL
Questions Answered: 437
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Search Questions and Answers


