Illinois  |  Technology Law

question bubble
2/18/09, 4:17 pm

Legal Question


Is the following copyright infringement?

Dear Sirs,

I have spent tens of thousands of hours creating computer aided drafting symbols of architectural and mechanical equipment, which I sell for a very fair price on my website. I am being threatened with a possible lawsuit by another company who makes CAD content for the same equipment. However, their symbols were drawn in one CAD software and sold that way (as AutoCAD ''.dwg'' files), and mine were created in a different software (Autodesk Revit ''.rfa'' format). I have actually imported some of their copyrighted drawings from a free trial version they distributed into my files for the purpose of comparison, but I have not included any elements of their product in any of my files. My drawings were made from scratch and in general do not resemble the ones from the company that is threatening to sue me. They are far more detailed, 3 Dimensional instead of 2 Dimensional, made for use on a far more technically advanced software than theirs, and are in general far more useful and of far better quality than their products are for the platform I make them for. I feel that this is just a competitor trying to make me leave what they consider to be their market. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search