Illinois | Education Law
Legal Question
Removal of School Board Member
One particular school board member in our district is harrassing one of the teachers at the middle school. She wants to get the teacher fired for personal reasons. What (if anything) can we do to remove this board member?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Walter Palmer |
Re: Removal of School Board Member Outside of defeating the school board member when they run for re-election, not much. If the community, faculty, other board members and the administration support the teacher, there may be a chance of saving her job. Especially community members.
Members of any board have no individual authority - only when they act as a group. That is the theory, but while they have no individual power, they have a ton of individual 'respect'/fear.
If the teacher is young, I would suggest leaving. If the teacher is at the point on the salary schedule where they would take a loss by moving, fight. By that point, the teacher should have -some- community support. My administration had to undermine mine before they could get rid of me and I was only the librarian.
If you come up with something because this is the kind of question that sent me to law school. I paid attention to these issues throughout law school and never worked out a satisfactory answer myself.
My contact information is below.
lawyerpalmer@comcast.net |
Top Attorneys in IL
Ainsworth & Associates PC
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Office of Walter Palmer
Chicago Heights, IL
Questions Answered: 209
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Zedrick Braden III
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-11-11
LAWYERCHICAGO.COM - 773-544-1370
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 36
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Omoniyi Law Firm, P. C.
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-30
Sahgal Law Office
Oak Brook, IL
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-27
Law Office of Hale Yadede
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-10
Thomas T. Schlake Law Offices
Des Plaines, IL
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-03-02
Search Questions and Answers


