Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

I've been married for 4 years and 2 months now, & getting divorced. I've been working as a public employee at a municpality for the last two years. I've also worked as a public employee before that from 1-2008-12-2008 for a different municipality. Each municipality took out 10% of each check for my pension. They do not take social security out of my check, because I am a public employee. My wife has been working the whole time we've been married also, & they take out Social Security from her checks. Is she entitled to my pension money they took out? Am I entitled to the Social Security money they took out of her checks?

Asked on 12/15/11, 4:58 pm

2 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes to first question. No to the second. In theory. Practically the amount is minimal and may be ignored.

Read more
12/15/11, 5:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now