Illinois | Insurance Law
Legal Question
I live on a private road that is maintained by the 10 homeowners who live on the road. We all share equally in costs pertaining to the road. There is a bridge that crosses a creek on the road. Are we responsible if someone gets hurt crossing the bridge? The bridge needs work/repair. We trying to decide if we should do the work ourselves versus hiring someone. If we hire someone, does that dissolve us from all liability if the bridge were to fail & someone gets hurt? Or are we responsible anyway regardless of who does the work because it's a privately maintained road?


