Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Illinois

Can i sue for my legal fees when someone takes me court after I win? Do I have to have a lawyer to do this?My problem is that i speedily produced all documentation requested of me and the other party that took me to court has not produced the same documentation since November, my lawyer won't request them because he doesn't work like that. My fees are more than i will get in the settlement.

Asked on 7/15/10, 9:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Thomas Moens Moens Law Offices, Chartered
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not unless you have an agreement with them to that effect. This is called the "American rule."

Read more
7/16/10, 9:15 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now