Illinois  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 11:18 pm

Legal Question


I have found conflicting answers to this question, can someone please give me a true legal answer?

I signed for a car, the loan and all paperwork and insurance is completely under my name alone. I got it for my boyfriend because his credit is so bad. We got it in April and he has been giving me money for the payments every month, but now that we are no longer together I am afraid he will stop making payments. The car is in his possession and he will not willingly give it to me to take care of. I could take my keys and pick up the car, but then he still has a set of keys and could find and take it back. I refuse to make payments on a car he is driving around. Can I call the police and have them pick up his set of keys and return it to me? I have heard that I have no case since I gave him permission to drive the car to begin with.

Any advice on this subject is greatly appreciated. I feel extremely foolish for putting myself in this situation and just want to resolve it. I live in Illinois.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search