Illinois | Real Estate Law
7/28/08, 12:57 pm
Legal Question
Rental deposit
What is the amount of time a landlord can hold your rental deposit after you move out?
Rental deposit
What is the amount of time a landlord can hold your rental deposit after you move out?
|
Read More Answered By: Nicholas Chrisos |
Re: Rental deposit In most cases, it's 30 days. |
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Lavelle |
Re: Rental deposit I agree with the brief but accurate response by Attorney Nicholas Chrisos.
The answer to your question might vary depending on where you live. For example, there is an Illinois statute for landlord-tenant relationships, but there is also a Chicago ordinance with some different rules for within the City of Chicago. Other municipalities in Illinois might also have their own landlord-tenant laws.
For more information, try contacting the Illinois Tenants Union at www.tenant.org. |
Highland, IN
Questions Answered: 7334
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 1722
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Roselle, IL
Questions Answered: 1079
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-30
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
► Selling on contract If some one is executer of estate and they want to sell a...
► Real Estae I will inherit some land from my parents. Will the deed have to be...
► Land trust vs Will If a land trust was set up in 2002 leaving parents' (now...
► Illinois Condo Law I live in a condo in Chicago. Our declaration says that board...
► Separation of trust Is there such a thing and how does it work?
► Attorney fees paid by association or individual Our condo board hired an attorney to...
► Quit Claim Deed It is true that even thought your husband signs a QuitClaim Deed...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press