Indiana | Technology Law
1/07/10, 10:15 am
Legal Question
Can Database Structures be copyrighted or patented?
|
Read More Answered By: Bruce Burdick |
Yes, both. A copyright registrations is a relatively straightforward and simple thing and lasts longer and is cheaper BUT gives very specific and limited protection. A patent is less certain, costs much more, is often hard to obtain, but if obtained will give much better protection for a shorter period. The patent will almost always be the better bargain if it can be obtained for your database structure. If no patent is possible because you don't meet the requirements then a copyright may give some degree of protection, albeit probably protection that is simple for a skilled would be infringer to avoid. You need a good broad based intellectual property lawyer to avoid you on the options. Most will give a free initial consultation (for example mine is a free 1/2 hour) and in that time should be able to tell you which makes more since for your factual situation. Patents and copyrights are federal law, so you can go to a lawyer in any state who specializes in those fields of law for this advise. I am next door in Illinois (the other side of the state, near St. Louis, actually) and would be willing to advise you. Give a call and we can talk about your specifics or email me and we can chat online, with video if you are set up for it. |
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-05
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Westfield, IN
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-06-24
New Delhi, NUS
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
► If i buy my gf a cell and pay for it and her mom takes it cause she dont like me...
► I want to create my website which will provide feature of free downloading Bollywood...
► I was asked to work on a coworkers computer to get a program to open .rar files. I...
► I was a member of a Organization that posted pictures of members and groups on thier...
► My boyfriend and a friend were fighting with each other through text messaging on my...
► Phone service for blind person My brother is 80 and legally blind. He asks the...
► Copyright? my husband put a video on youtube of him and fellow police officers in...
More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in Indiana| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press