Indiana  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
5/26/09, 9:52 am

Legal Question


18-year-old unfairly penalized

Last year, when she was 17, my granddaughter was in a car accident. She thought the car was insured ~ it was in her and her step-father's name ~ but her step-father had let the coverage lapse without telling her. Okay, step-dad was supposed to take care of it. Long story short: in the past year, mom & step-dad went through an acrimonious divorce, amidst untold stress and chaos granddaughter finished her senior year and is graduating with honors this Sunday. And then finds out last week that her license is suspended and _she_ (not step-dad) has been sued and a judgment entered against _her_ in the amount of $15,000, and in order to get her license back, she has to pay a $250 deposit, plus BMV fines, and sign a promisory note to pay the rest off monthly. She had to put off going to college this fall because in the midst of the turmoil she missed sitting her math SATs and wasn't able to apply for financial aid because the parents 2008 taxes were not done in time to file a FAFSA. She has a 21st Century Scholar scholarship that will pay in-state tuition, but that's all. And now, she has to start out with $15,000 debt hanging around her neck. How is this legal, not to mention fair?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search